#BlackHistoryMonth The Congressional Black Caucus

Congressional Black Caucus

The Congressional Black Caucus organization represents the African American members of the United States Congress. In 1969, a committee of African American members from the House of Representatives organized the Democratic Select Committee. In February of 1971, the name of the organization was changed to the Congressional Black Caucus. The goal of the organization is, “positively influencing the course of events pertinent to African-Americans and others of similar experience and situation”, and “achieving greater equity for persons of African descent in the design and content of domestic and international programs and services.” The founding members of the Congressional Black Caucus are Shirley Chisholm, William L. Clay Sr., George W. Collins, John Conyers, Ronald Dellums, Augustus F. Hawkins, Ralph Metcalfe, Parren Mitchell, Robert Nix, Charles Rangel, Louis Stokes, and Washington D.C. Delegate Walter Fauntroy.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s